Texas Taxpayers and Research Association Annual Membership Meeting Hyatt Regency

208 Barton Springs Rd, Austin, TX 78704

Thursday, November 21, 2024

9:00-10:00 am Registration / Welcome Breakfast (Texas Ballroom 1-3, Level 2)

10:00-10:15 am Opening Remarks

10:15-11:00 am Tax Developments Across the States

Khrissy Griffin, Vice President, Tax, Archrock [Moderator] Miguel Legarreta, President, Associated Taxpayers of Idaho Kevin McCarthy, President, Arizona Tax Research Association

Patrick J. Reynolds, President and Executive Director, Council on State Taxation

11:00 am-12:00 pm Report from the Comptroller's Office

Lisa Craven, *Deputy Comptroller and Chief of Staff [Moderator]*

Jennifer Burleson, Director of Tax Policy Division

Korry Castillo, Associate Deputy Comptroller for Agency Operations and Support

Tetyana Melnyk, Director of Revenue Estimating Division

12:00-1:00 pm Networking Lunch / TTARA Business Meeting & Elections (Texas Ballroom 4-7, Level 2)

1:00-2:00 pm Reinvigorating R&D Incentives in Texas

Ben Geslison, Special Counsel, Baker Botts [Moderator]

John Diamond, Director, Center for Public Finance, Rice University's Baker Institute for Public

Policy

Stephen Long, Partner, Baker & McKenzie LLP

Becky Redman, Manager, Government Relations, Lockheed Martin

2:00-2:55 pm Effects of the 20% Circuit Breaker in 2024

Eric Padilla, Director, Public Policy, Vistra Corp [Moderator]

Joyce Beebe, Fellow in Public Finance, Rice University's Baker Institute for Public Policy

Jim Popp, Principal, Ryan LLC, Partner, Popp Hutcheson PLLC Brent South, Chief Appraiser, Hunt County Appraisal District

2:55-3:15 pm Break

3:15-4:15 pm To Tax or Not to Tax the Digital Economy

Kevin Oldham, Partner, Duggins Wren Mann & Romero, LLP [Moderator]

John Farris, SVP Tax, RealPage

William Lasher, Founder, Lasher Tax Consulting

Robin Robinson, Tax Specialist Executive, Deloitte Tax LLP

4:15-5:00 pm Amicus Briefs in the Texas Judiciary

Renn Neilson, Partner, Baker Botts [Moderator]

Hon. Amy Clark Meachum, 201st Civil District Court Judge

Lorri Michel, Co-Founder, Michel & Rogers, PC

Hon. Thomas R. Phillips, Retired Chief Justice, Supreme Court of Texas

5:00-6:30 pm Chair's Networking Reception (Foothills II, Level 17) [All attendees invited]

Texas Taxpayers and Research Association Annual Membership Meeting Hyatt Regency 208 Barton Springs Rd, Austin, TX 78704

Friday, November 22, 2024

8:30-9:15 am Registration / Breakfast (Texas Ballroom 1-3, Level 2)

9:15-10:00 am Engaging Local Governments: The Long Game

Darren Owen, Property Tax Manager, ExxonMobil Corporation [Moderator]

Bob Adair, CMI, Senior Advisor, Advantous Consulting L.L.C.

Tony Bennett, President and CEO, Texas Association of Manufacturers **John Valenta,** Former Ad Valorem Tax Manager, Anadarko Petroleum

10:00-10:30 am Break

10:30-11:00 am The Costs and Challenges of Tax Swaps

Jared Walczak, Vice President of State Projects, Tax Foundation

11:00 am-12:00 pm Political Panel

Matthew Watkins, Editor, Texas Tribune [Moderator]

Karen Brooks Harper, Senior Politics Writer, Dallas Morning News

James Henson, Executive Director, Texas Politics Project

Mark Jones, Fellow in Political Science, Rice University's Baker Institute for Public

Policy

12:00 -1:00 pm Luncheon and Keynote Address (Texas Ballroom 4-7, Level 2)

Championing Economic Development in Texas

Bryan Daniel, Chairman, Texas Workforce Commission

[Del Threadgill Distinguished Tax Professional Award will be presented]