

For Immediate Release

Date:January 1, 2018Contact:Gene Stinson, PresidentThe Southern Economic Development CouncilPhone:(404) 523-3030Fax:(404) 523-0406E-mail:gene@sedc.orgWeb:www.sedc.org

Southern Economic Development Council Announces

2018 Board of Directors

Atlanta, GA (January 1, 2018) – The Southern Economic Development Council (SEDC), the oldest and largest regional economic development association in North America, is pleased to announce the 2018 Board of Directors. Board Members took their seats January 1, 2018. All Board Members are dedicated long-time SEDC members with histories of leadership within their communities. State Directors and Alternate Directors were chosen for their positions by their peers within their states. Executive Committee Board Members were chosen by SEDC membership.

"Our 2018 Board is a group of consummate professionals, with the experience and leadership necessary to help us meet our goals and continue our efforts in raising the bar for SEDC and our membership," stated Gene Stinson, SEDC President.

The 2018 SEDC Board of Directors includes:

- Chairman: Samuel (Sam) Powers, CEcD, Economic Development Director, City of Asheville, NC
- 1st Vice Chairman: Raul Peralta, Senior VP, ECS Southeast, LLP, NC
- 2nd Vice Chairman: Will Williams, SCCED, President & CEO, Economic Development Partnership, SC
- Secretary/Treasurer: Bob Helton, Economic Development Manager, Morehead Rowan County Economic Development, KY
- Immediate Past Chairman: Robert (Bob) Leak, Jr., CEcD, President, Winston-Salem Business, Inc., NC

2018 Board of Directors Press Release, page 2

- **President:** Gene Stinson, PCED, CEcD, CAE, HLM, President, Southern Economic Development Council (SEDC), GA
- Southeast Regional Director: Blake Wallace
- Mid- Atlantic Regional Director: Tonita Goodwin
- Western Regional Director: Beth Johnson
- Alabama Director: Matt Arnold (Alternate: Rick Clifton)
- Arkansas Director: JD Lowery (Alternate: Ivy Owen, PCED, EDFP)
- Florida Director: Keith Norden (Alternate:)
- Georgia Director: Scott Poag (Alternate: Greg Wright)
- Kansas Director: Beth Johnson (Alternate: Murray McGee)
- Kentucky Director: Tonita Goodwin (Alternate:)
- Louisiana Director: Ben Fontenot (Alternate: Kristi Lumpkin)
- Maryland Director: (Alternate:)
- Missouri Director: Robert Harrington (Alternate: Scott Sattler)
- Mississippi Director: Blake Wallace (Alternate: Jon Maynard)
- North Carolina Director: Loren Hill (Alternate: Ken Allen)
- Oklahoma Director: Andy McMillan (Alternate: Lyle Roggow)
- South Carolina Director: Stuart Ames (Alternate: Brian Gwin)
- Tennessee Director: Kathy Knight Price (Alternate: John Duncan)
- Texas Director: James O'Donley, HLM (Alternate: Frank McCrady)
- Virginia Director: Chris Gullickson (Alternate: Eric Miller)
- West Virginia Director: Robbie Morris (Alternate: Mark Whitley)

The Southern Economic Development Council is an 894 member, non-profit organization composed of a broad cross-section of active and influential industrial and economic developers from business and industry, utilities, transportation, financial and education institutions, chambers of commerce, and local, regional and state development agencies. Members in the 17-state area share a common interest: the promotion and enhancement of the economic development profession. The SEDC region includes the following states: Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland and the District of Columbia, Mississippi, Missouri, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia and West Virginia. ###