At the request of Nominating Chair Lucinda Lilley and President Aiesha Blevins, I am sending this letter to report on leadership planning and the Nominating Committee process as well as to announce the 2024 Nominating Committee's 2025 slate of Officers and Directors.

The following is the nominating process as outlined by the Southern California Rental Housing Associations Bylaws and Board Policy, which demonstrate the important separation of the Board of Directors and the nominating process for the greater benefit of the SCRHA's members.

The Board Executive Terms

Each Board member is eligible for three two-year terms on the Board. That time can be extended by as much as three years if they are appointed President-Elect in the sixth year and subsequently move on to President and then Immediate Past President.

The Nominating Committee

To ensure there is no undue influence from the Board on the nominating process, the Nominating Committee operates independently of the Board of Directors, chaired by the Immediate Past President. The current President appoints at least three additional volunteers to participate in the committee along with the Executive Director (All committees and task forces must have a staff person present. Executive session is the only exception).

2024 Nominating Committee

Lucinda Lilley, Immediate Past President/Chairperson
Buck Buchanan, President Elect
Jennifer Ford

Aiesha Blevins, President

Matt Ruane, Secretary

Scott Ledesma

Staff Liaison: Alan Pentico, Executive Director

The Process

The Nominating Committee's work starts anew every year. Their task is to review the best industry leaders for the Association at that point in time and make their best recommendations for the future Executive Committee that will fulfill the current needs of the Association. As much as it seems that there has been *advancement* of Executive Committee members over the years, there is a regular ebb and flow of Executive members, on and off the committee, for varying reasons.

Membership Approval at the Annual Meeting

The results of the Nominating Committee's work, including the slate of Executive Officers for the following year, Returning Directors, and New Board Directors are presented to the SCRHA Membership at the Annual meeting of the members. Only the general membership can approve the slate by vote.

Board Endorsements

From time to time, the slate has been presented to the SCRHA Board of Directors, and the Board has chosen to give their endorsement of the slate. By no means does this give the Board the authority to return a slate to the Nominating Committee. The discussion and approval of the slate is to occur by, and in full view of, the SCRHA Membership at the Annual Meeting.

An Example: If the Board of Directors chose to have a vote to endorse the slate of candidates and the slate was not approved by the Board, that information is to be provided to the members at the annual meeting where the Members vote on the slate.

This Year's Slate

This cycle we have the Executive Committee, which adds three new individuals, five new Board members, three renewing members of the Board, and 10 returning (mid-term) members of the Board. Aiesha Blevins will extend her term due to her position as Immediate Past President. There will be 19 board members in total.

Your Nominating Committee's Slate of Officers for 2025

Recommendation: The Nominating Committee is recommending the following slate of Executive Officers and Directors for the 2025 Southern California Rental Housing Association Board of Directors.

Executive Officers

President Buck Buchanan, Buchanan Property Management Corp.

President Elect Allison Pfister, Legislative Chair Appointment, Greystar Residential

Vice President Alex Winborn, H.G. Fenton Company
Secretary Jennifer Ford, Douglas Allred Company
Treasurer Matt Ruane, Liberty Military Housing

Legislative Chair Lisa Mason, Baldwin & Sons Immediate Past President Aiesha Blevins, Greystar Residential

Directors Starting New (Returning) Two-year Terms

- Alicia Banister, The Nash, NEW
- David Antczak, David Antczak Co., NEW
- Daniel Hernandez, Sunrise Management Company AMO, NEW
- Blair Madrid, American Assets Trust, Inc., NEW
- Robert Shapiro, Onyx Property Management, NEW
- Alex Winborn, H.G. Fenton Company, 2nd Term
- Kimmi McBryde, Cushman Wakefield, 2nd Term
- Mark Feinberg, Heinz & Feinberg, 3rd Term

FYI, Mid-term Directors –These are Directors that will return next year to complete their current two-year term. No vote required.

- Dr. Lorri Goldmann, Avenue5 Residential, 1st Term
- Lisa Mason, Baldwin & Sons, 1st Term
- Kayla Roeder, Cambridge Management Group, AMO, 1st Term
- Patrick Kappel, Kappel Realty Group, 1st Term

- Eric Sutton, Creaser & Warwick, Inc., 1st Term
- Scott Ledesma, Generation Contracting & Emergency Services, Inc., 3rd Term
- Jennifer Ford, Douglas Allred Company, 2nd Term
- Buck Buchanan, Buchanan Property Management Corp., 3rd Term
- Matt Ruane, Liberty Military Housing, 2nd Term
- Aiesha Blevins, Greystar Residential, 3rd Term

Extended Terms Aiesha Blevins, President, Immediate Past President

If you should have any questions about the process, please feel free to contact Alan Pentico, Executive Director. Please remember that, for the benefit of the Membership, the Nominating Committee's work is absolutely confidential, and independent of the Board of Directors. Please respect that confidentiality as it strengthens the resolve of the Association.