

For Immediate Release

Contact: Steve Traylor Phone: (703) 519-8035

# NATOA Announces Recipients of 2010 Community Broadband Awards for Outstanding Broadband Endeavors

**Alexandria, VA – September 20, 2010 –** The National Association of Telecommunications Officers and Advisors (NATOA) Board of Directors today announced the recipients of NATOA's 2010 Community Broadband Awards. These honors are awarded to exceptional leaders and innovative programs that champion community interests and broadband deployment in local communities nationwide. Recipients will receive their awards at NATOA's 30<sup>th</sup> Annual Conference, to be held in Washington, D.C. from September 29 to October 1 with a special pre-conference Broadband and Economic Development full-day workshop on September 28.

"NATOA's Community Broadband Awards proudly honor the people, communities, and organizations that lead the nation in improving government and public options in broadband technology," said Ken Fellman, president of the NATOA Board of Directors. "The award recipients were chosen based on their extraordinary efforts, achievements, and innovation in community-based approaches to broadband. We applaud their efforts to ensure that more American communities and citizens benefit from new technology."

The 2010 Community Broadband Award recipients are:

## Community Broadband Hero of the Year

**Larry Strickling, Assistant Secretary of Commerce and Administrator of NTIA**, for recognizing the merits of many public broadband projects and for funding many projects that will deliver high speed services to key community anchor institutions such as schools, libraries, and public health facilities.

## Community Broadband Organization of the Year

**Alcatel-Lucent**, for steadfast advocacy for broadband stimulus, for support for public broadband initiatives, and for policy advocacy on behalf of bigger, better bandwidth for American anchor institutions, businesses, and residences.

## Community Broadband Project of the Year

**The Chattanooga, TN fiber-to-the-premises and smart grid initiatives**—the largest public FTTP network in the US, that includes a pioneering smart grid initiative.

#### Community Broadband Visionary of the Year

**Dr. Lev Gonick, CIO of Case-Western Reserve University**; the founder of the OneCommunity network and the visionary behind the Case-Western Beta Block—a public interest FTTP initiative intended to demonstrate how bandwidth and civic-minded applications can be transformative in the lives of Americans in need.

#### **Community Broadband Fiber Network of the Year**

**DC-NET, the District of Columbia's institutional fiber network**, the most extensive city fiber network in the U.S., which was just recognized by the Federal government with a BTOP grant to extend DC-NET, on an open access basis, into the poorest Wards of the City, enabling build-out of more affordable, accessible services and extending high bandwidth fiber to anchors such as charter schools.

#### **Community Broadband Wireless Network of the Year**

The City of Houston, in partnership with Alvarion, for extensive effort and creativity in designing and deploying a wireless network to serve institutional and public needs.

For more information on the award recipients, the NATOA Community Broadband Awards, and NATOA's efforts to bring about a national broadband strategy that recognizes the vital and integral role of local governments, visit www.natoa.org or contact Steve Traylor, Executive Director/General Counsel, or Ken Fellman, President, at the number above.

NATOA promotes community interests in communications. A national trade association based in Alexandria, VA, NATOA represents local government jurisdictions and consortiums, including elected and appointed officials and staff, who oversee communications policies and services in local governments throughout the country.

###