

Algonquin

Aurora

Batavia

Big Rock

Burlington

Campton Hills

Carpenterville

Cortland

DeKalb

East Dundee

Elbun

Elgin

Geneva

Genoa

Gilberts

Hampshire

Huntley

Kaneville

Lily Lake

Maple Park

Millbrook

Minooka

Montgomery

Newark

North Aurora

Oswego

Pingree Grove

Plattville

St. Charles

Sleepy Hollow

South Elgin

Sugar Grove

Virgil

Waterman

Wayne

West Dundee

Yorkville



2025 LEGISLATIVE AGENDA

Metro West Council of Government

is an intergovernmental association of 37 municipalities in Kane, Kendall and DeKalb Counties and represents 750,000 voices.

STATE ISSUES



Local Government Authority

- Maintain the efficacy of economic development tools including Tax Increment Financing Districts (TIF).
- Support common sense amendments to Freedom of Information Act/Open Meetings Act.
- Oppose legislation on local government that is unfunded or underfunded.
- Oppose legislation that eliminates local decision-making authority (e.g. zoning).



Local Government Revenue

 Protect Local Government Distributive Funds (LGDF) so all municipalities are able to invest in their communities and support crucial services and projects.



Public Safety

 Work with stakeholders to include municipalities in all decision making processes including any changes to Tier 2 Pensions and FOIA storage management.



Transportation

- Work with stakeholders to include municipalities in all decision making processes including any changes to mass transit/transportation that affect the Metro West region.
- Work with local government to increase transportation funding for the region, with increased focus on a multi-year transportation plan.



Algonquin

Aurora

Batavia

Big Rock

Burlington

Campton Hills

Carpenterville

Cortland

DeKalb

East Dundee

Elbun

Elgin

Geneva

Genoa

Gilberts

Hampshire

Huntley

Kaneville

Lily Lake

Maple Park

Millbrook

Minooka

Montgomery

Newark

North Aurora

Oswego

Pingree Grove

Plattville

St. Charles

Sleepy Hollow

South Elgin

Sugar Grove

Virgil

Waterman

Wayne

West Dundee

Yorkville



2025 LEGISLATIVE AGENDA

Metro West Council of Government

is an intergovernmental association of 37 municipalities in Kane, Kendall and DeKalb Counties and represents 750,000 voices.

FEDERAL ISSUES



Transportation

- Work with stakeholders to include municipalities in all decision making processes including any changes to mass transit/transportation that affect the Metro West region.
- Work with local government to increase transportation funding for the region, with increased focus on a multiyear transportation plan.



Infrastructure

 Provide more funding to the region to address the challenges to the region's water and sewer infrastructure including emerging contaminants such as PFAS.