MICHIGAN RURAL WATER ASSOCIATION Annual Business Meeting Minutes March 21, 2018 Mt. Pleasant, Michigan

<u>Call to order:</u> The meeting was called to order by President Tom Anthony at 12:04 p.m.

Roll Call: Bob Masters called the roll. Present were Tom Anthony, Bob Studt, Bob Master, Chris Kenyon, Randy Seida, Corey Davis, Tim Krugh, Dale Stewart, Rolly Olney II, and Andrea Schroeder. Bob Masters declared a Quorum was present. Also present were staff members: Tim Neumann and Jennifer Lewis and delegates from the membership.

Reading of the Notice of Hearing: Motion by Schroeder; 2nd by Kenyon to suspend the reading of the minutes of the Notice of Hearing. Vote: Aye.

Reading of the Minutes: Motion by Corey Davis, 2nd by Schroeder to suspend the reading of the 2017 Annual Business Meeting minutes. Vote: Aye.

<u>Presentation of Financial Reports:</u> Shannon Wilson, from the audit firm Weinlander Fitzhugh CPA, presented the results of the audit of the financial reports for 2017. Michigan Rural Water Association financial audit and the single audit received a favorable financial unqualified opinion.

Election of Directors: President Tom Anthony presided over the election.

- 3 Community Member Director seat 3 year term
- 1 Associate Member Director seat 3 year term

Communities – Voting Member Director Seat –three seats to be filled. Listed on the ballot were:

- <u>Tom Anthony of Mattawan</u> (nominated by Tim Krugh, seconded Chris Kenyon)
- <u>Bob Studt of Ithaca</u> (nominated by Chris Kenyon, seconded by Tom Anthony)
- <u>Todd Hackenburg of Lawton</u> (nominated by Randy Seida, seconded by Dale Stewart)

<u>Tim Kading of Bridgman</u> (nominated by Dale Stewart, seconded by Corey Davis

Results: Tom Anthony and Bob Studt will retain their seats on the Board of Directors while the third vacancy will be filled by Tim Kading of Bridgman.

Associates – Associate Member Director Seat – both candidates will be awarded spots on the MRWA Board; voting will determine which candidate has a one year or three year term (the person with the greatest number of votes will receive the 3 year term).

Listed on the ballot were:

- <u>Bob Masters of Peerless Midwest</u> (nominated by Bob Studt, seconded by Tom Anthony)
- <u>Eli Bromley of Clam Union Utility</u> (nominated by Corey Davis, seconded by Dale Stewart)

Members were instructed to vote for only one candidate. The votes would then be counted by no less than two Current Board members

Results: Bob Masters would retain his seat and be awarded the 3 year term and Eli Bromley was granted a 1 year term, filling the vacancy left by Rolly Olney II resigning from the Board.

<u>Committee Reports:</u> Fred Morin gave a report on the 2017 Annual Conference. Tim Neumann gave a report on recent legislative news as well as the new Lead & Copper Rule.

New Business: By-Law Amendment.

The following amendment was proposed to the MRWA By-Laws (read by Tom Anthony):

Currently in the By-Laws:

(d) Individual Membership. Any employee, Board Member or elected official of the Association's membership (voting or associate) can become an Individual Member of the Association. Such individual Members shall have no vote, however they will receive Association membership benefits, discounts and Association publications. The annual dues for Individual Membership shall be under ARTICLE V, Section 3 as determined by the Association's Board.

Proposed Changes to the By-Law:

Eliminate the category individual membership out of the by-laws.

This recommendation is being made as membership has dwindled and it's not cost effective to maintain this membership category. Also to be an individual member the community you work for or company your work for has to be a member of MRWA to even join as an individual. It is for these reasons that the Board of Directors has recommended the elimination of this membership category out of the By-Laws.

Members were instructed to vote yes or no to the proposed By-Law Amendment. The votes would then be counted by no less than 2 Board members.

Result: Passed

<u>Adjournment:</u> Motion by Randy Seida; seconded by Rolly Olney II to adjourn the Annual Business Meeting.

Vote: Aye.

President Anthony adjourned the meeting at 12:36 p.m.

Respectfully submitted by: Jennifer Lewis Finance Director, MRWA