

Call to Order at 11:17am

- I. Approval of Consent General Membership Meeting Agenda and Meeting Minutes Andy Claes
 - A. 4/11/18 GMM Agenda and 2/14/18 GMM Minutes Motion: Donna Jones Second: John Bretschneider Motion carried

II. Board of Directors Report

- A. Eric Hoppstock was elected as Treasurer of CASE
- B. Retirement celebration planned for June MAASE on Tuesday, June 12th
- C. Events:
 - a. 17th Annual START Conference April 30, Lansing, MI
 - b. Bridging the Gap ISD Collaborative Conference May 9-11, St. Ignace, MI
 - c. CASE/CEC Legislative Summit July 8-11, Washington, DC
 - d. CASE Fall Board and Conference November 7-10, Biloxi, MS
 - e. MAASE Leadership Team Retreat July 15-17, Traverse City, MI
 - f. MCEC Summer Retreat July 23-25, Roscommon, MI
 - g. MAASE Summer Institute August 12-15, Traverse City, MI
- D. Bridging the Gap: ISD Compliance Reps Annual Conference
- E. Board Updates
 - a. MAASE is fiscally healthy
 - b. Membership (100+ new members)
 - c. Professional Development and Attendance attendance ebbs and flows over the school year; MAASE continues to meet expenses over the fiscal year.
 - d. Partnership Opportunities MAASE seeks to establish partnerships with other organizations to collaborate for better student outcomes.
 - e. ISD Collaborative CoP Steve Berg will Co-Chair with Renee Thelen effective July 1st.
 - f. Legislative Progress Members are encouraged to engage with their legislators.
- F. Award nominations being sought:
 - a. Patricia Gilcrest-Frazier Award will be presented at the June General Membership Meeting. This award recognizes a local district public school special education director. Nominations are due by May 11th.
 - b. Beekman Award is presented at Summer Institute. The Beekman Award recognizes individuals who have distinguished themselves in the administration and leadership of special education programs. Nominations are due by May 31st.

Andy Claes



Crowne Plaza Lansing West Hotel

- G. Call for Nominations for Board of Directors
 - a. LEA/PSA Director 2 year term
 - i. Trish Lopuki, Northview Public Schools
 - ii. Shannon Porter, Algonac Community Schools
 - iii. Nominated and accepted: None
 - b. Region 1a Rep 2 year term
 - i. Tammy Nygn, Marquette-Alger RESA
 - *ii.* Nominated and accepted: None
 - c. Region 2 Rep 2 year term
 - i. Sarah Winslow, Ingham ISD
 - ii. Nominated and accepted: None
 - d. Region 4 Rep 2 year term
 - i. Karen Howey, Wayne RESA
 - ii. Nominated and accepted: None
 - e. Vice President-Elect 4 year term
 - i. Michelle Brahaney, Monroe ISD
 - ii. Nominated and accepted: None

Motion to close the nominations. Motion: Eric Hoppstock Second: Ben Hicks Motion carried

Voting will be open from May 14 to May 25, 2018. A reminder will be sent to full members when voting opens.

IV. Membership Recognition

Members in new positions and students were recognized.

V. Adjournment

Meeting adjourned at 11:40 am

Andy Claes