

General Membership Meeting Minutes June 14, 2017

Crowne Plaza Lansing West Hotel

Call to Order at 10:31 am

I. Approval of Consent Agenda and Meeting Minutes

Eric Hoppstock

- A. 4/12/17 General Membership Meeting Minutes
- B. 6/14/17 General Membership Meeting Agenda

Motion to approve the April Meeting Minutes

Motion: Tom Koepke Second: Eleanor Harris

Motion carried

Motion to approve the June Consent Agenda

Motion: Tom Kopke Second: Eleanor Harris

Motion carried

II. Board of Directors Report

Eric Hoppstock

- A. Appointment of Board of Directors Officers 2017-18: Tammy Hazley Secretary; Greg Bodrie Treasurer.
- B. Transfer of Oversight Functions: bank signatories
- C. Contract Renewal with Leach Professional Services
- D. MAASE Membership Survey: Initial review of responses
- E. Strategic Priorities: Two priorities were the primary focus of board discussion. Technical Assistance & Information *and* Encouragement & Support for Educational Innovation are two areas the board will analyze in greater depth in order to ensure the organization is supporting progress in these two areas.
- F. Election Results for 2017-18 Board of Directors
 - *ISD Director Representative (2 years) Rebecca McIntyre
 - *Region 1b Representative (2 years) Ben Hicks
 - *Region 3 Representative (2 years) Greg Bodrie
 - *Vice President-Elect (4 years) Abby Allen
- G. MAASE Mojo
 - *CASE Recognition: Michigan membership up 10%
 - *CASE: Outstanding Professional Development plaque received acknowledging Ed Camp, Summer Institute, Tuesday PD, and SLIP Conference
- H. Announcements
 - *Special Education Legislative Summit July 9-12, 2017
 - *MAASE Summer Institute August 6-9, 2017
 - *CASE Fall Conference November 2-4, 2017



General Membership Meeting Minutes June 14, 2017

Crowne Plaza Lansing West Hotel

III. Membership Recognition

Andy Claes

Members and students were recognized.

IV. Patricia Gilcrest-Frazier Award Presentation

Derek Cooley

Derek explained the intent of the award and slowly revealed the identification of this year's winner: Deborah Koepke!

V. 2017-18 President

Eric Hoppstock

Passing the gavel to Andy Claes.

VI. Adjournment

Andy Claes

Meeting adjourned at 12:09 pm.