

## Mike Greene: 2012 GCPA Power Star Award Recipient

Mike Greene, retired Vice Chairman of Energy Future Holdings, was the recipient of the 2012 annual Pat Wood Power Star Award in recognition of his significant contributions towards the advancement of competitive energy markets in Texas.

During Greene's long career in the electric power industry, he became a familiar presence and leader in industry policy deliberations both in Texas and at the national level. He served on the technical advisory committee of the Electric Reliability Council of Texas (ERCOT) for 10 years and then served another 10 years on the ERCOT board, acting as board chairman for six terms. Greene's leadership roles occurred during a period of significant change and transition within ERCOT and the Texas power industry. A very different market structure was emerging, new participants were arriving on the scene, and there was a critical need for leadership that both understood the historic reliability charter of ERCOT and the need to adapt and accept the new participants. Greene repeatedly stepped forward to fill that need.

"Mike Greene had the respect of his utility colleagues and also the vision to see that power marketers, other new market participants and consumers all needed a voice and a role in the decision-making as to how ERCOT and the market were going to move forward," said John Stauffacher, GCPA Executive Director. "Mike's demeanor made him uniquely suited to provide leadership in this effort. He was accessible and cognizant of the need for change while ensuring that all voices were heard. On numerous occasions, he stepped into the breach to fill unexpected needs in leading the effort."

Greene's interests and efforts have extended beyond ERCOT and the Texas power industry. In addition to having served on the boards of the North American Electric Reliability Council (NERC) and the Electric Power Research Institute (EPRI), he also served as chair of the (newly formed) NERC Stakeholders committee in 2002- 2003. He has served as a member of the Texas A&M Engineering Advisory Board, the UT Arlington Development Board and the UT Arlington Engineering Advisory Board. He is a registered Professional Engineer in the State of Texas and is a member of the National and Texas Society of Professional Engineers and the American Society of Mechanical Engineers. He also serves on the board of the Texas Parks and Wildlife Foundation.