28TH Annual George Wittenborn Book Awards Presented

Denver, Colorado – On May 2, 2008 the 28th Annual George Wittenborn Memorial Book Awards were presented at the annual conference of the Art Libraries Society of North America (ARLIS/NA). Established in 1980 to honor the memory of premier New York City art book dealer and publisher George Wittenborn, the awards are given each year to North American art publications which represent the highest standards of content, documentation, layout and format in art publishing. Two outstanding books published in 2007 were selected to receive the 28th Annual George Wittenborn Memorial Book Award.

- *Stuart Davis: A Catalogue Raisonné*. Edited by Ani Boyajian and Mark Rutkoski. Yale University Art Gallery, in association with Yale University Press, 2007.
- Ornament as Art: Avant-Garde Jewelry from the Helen Williams Drutt Collection, the Museum of Fine Arts, Houston. By Cindi Strauss. Museum of Fine Arts, Houston and ARNOLDSCHE Art Publishers, 2007.

Members of the 28th Annual George Wittenborn Memorial Book Award are: Margaret Culbertson, Museum of Fine Arts, Houston (chair), Beverly Mitchell, Southern Methodist University, Jet Prendeville, Rice University, Laura Schwartz, University of Texas at Austin, Chia-Chun Shih, Kimbell Art Museum, and Thomas E. Young, Philbrook Museum of Art.

ARLIS/NA, founded in 1972, has nearly 1,300 members in the U.S., Canada, Mexico and overseas. It is the only professional organization in North America devoted exclusively to the concerns of the art information specialists.