

27th Annual George Wittenborn Memorial Book Award Winners

Atlanta, Georgia - On April 29, 2007, the 27th Annual George Wittenborn Memorial Book Awards were presented at the annual conference of the Art Libraries Society of North America (ARLIS/NA). Established in 1981 to honor the memory of premier New York City art book dealer and publisher George Wittenborn, the awards are given each year to North American art publications which represent the highest standards of content, documentation, layout, and format. Two outstanding books published in 2006 were selected to receive the 27th Annual George Wittenborn Memorial Book Award:

- *Prayers and Portraits: Unfolding the Netherlandish Diptych.* John Oliver Hand, Catherine A. Metzger, Ron Spronk. National Gallery of Art, Washington; Koninklijk Museum voor Schone Kunsten, Antwerp, in association with Harvard University Art Museums, Cambridge, and Yale University Press, New Haven and London.
- *American Indian Horse Masks*. Mike Cowdrey and Ned & Jody Martin. Hawk Hill Press, Nicasio, California.

Members of the 27th Annual George Wittenborn Memorial Book Award Committee were: Terrie L. Wilson (Chair), Michigan State University; Annette Haines, University of Michigan; Miranda Howard, Western Michigan University; Rebecca Price, University of Michigan; Marsha Stevenson, University of Notre Dame; Amy Trendler, Ball State University.

ARLIS/NA, founded in 1972, has nearly 1,300 members in the U.S., Canada, and Mexico. It is the only professional organization in North America devoted exclusively to the concerns of art information specialists